Monday, April 6, 2020

The month of March was filled with some amazing student-athlete moments!

What a time to be an Iowa Hawkeye.

Our staff wants to announce a congratulations to the following;

  • Luka Garza - Men’s Basketball: recipient of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, Big Ten Player of the Year, Wooden Award All-America Recognition, Pete Newell Big Man of the Year, Consensus First-Team All-American, USWBA First-Team All America, Associate Press First-Team All-America, Times National Player of the Year, Stadium National Player of the Year, Naismith Finalist, Sporting News First-Team All-American, CBS Sports/NBC Sports, and USA Today First-Team All-American

  • Kathleen Doyle - Women’s Basketball: Big Ten Player of the Year, WBCA All-American, WBCA All-Region Team, USBWA Third Team All-America, Associated Press Third Team All-American, 1 of 5 Ann Meyers Drysdale Finalists, and CoSIDA Academic All-American

  • Spencer Lee - Wrestling: recipient of the Dan Hodge Award and Big Ten Wrestler of the Year

  • Wrestling: Big Ten Champions and Head Coach Tom Brands recipient of the NWCA, InterMat and Big Ten Coach of the Year

  • Laulauga Tausaga - Track & Field: named Midwest Regional Female Field Athlete of the Year and Track and Field Athletes of the 2020 Big Ten Indoor Championships, winning gold in the weight throw and runner-up in the shot put

  • Wayne Lawerence - Track & Field: Track and Field Athletes of the Big Ten Indoor Championships, winning Gold in the 200m, 400m, and 4x400m relay

  • Swimming & Diving: named 6 CSCAA All-Americans - Hannah Burvill, Kelsey Drake, Daniel Swanepoel, Anze Fers Erzen, Sam Tamborski, and Mohammad Neumen

  • Lauren Guerin- Women’s Gymnastics: named 2020 WGCA All-America second team on floor

  • Joslyn Boyer - Volleyball: selected for the U.S. Women’s Collegiate National Team - Anaheim roster

  • Nia Carter - Softball: named to JWOS All-Freshman Team

  • The Men’s Tennis team who finished their season with their highest ranking in program history (#20) consisting of Kareem Allaf, ranked #51 in singles and doubles team Will Davies and Oliver Okonkwo at #12

  • Isabella Solaroli and Megan Conroy - Field Hockey: named NFHCA Scholars of Distinction along with 9 other of their teammates named to National Academic Squad

  • Head Coach Andrew Carter - Rowing: selected to be the USRowing U-23 National Team Head Coach

We have so much appreciation for the student-athlete and coaches we serve. Thank you for your hard work.

Due to unforeseen events from COVID-19 we continue our efforts to support and care for our student-athletes. We will remain united, strong, and supportive of our community and student-athletes. Go Hawks!